The Night Before Last…

You came to me in my dreams,

the night before last.

I forget what our tale was that night,

but I certainly remember the tale we wove

before…

Before your sudden goodbye. My broken heart.

And the dirt that thudded over you to seal you in

forever.

I had waited for your appearance for so long

that when you showed up in my sleep

the night before last,

I wasn’t sure what to do.

I had said goodbye to you plenty of times before…

with tears, angry curses, silence, reggae moves,

but I always waited, waited for you to meet me

in my dreams.

You showed yourself, the night before last,

after I fell asleep in a pool of tears.

I woke up in a garden of smiles.

Unsure of what transpired in the dream,

just very sure that you were there.

2 thoughts on “The Night Before Last…

Leave a Reply

