Next Steps…

I am excited. In August, I set off to live in a land that is not my own, that I have never even thought would ever be my home. I shall live in a rural area. I shall do public health things. And I know that it will be a challenge. As such, I look forward to it. When I was younger, I was absolutely fearless. I could jump onto a plane, a bus or a train and just survive wherever I landed. Now that I am older, having watched so many episodes of “Law and Order” and having seen a lot of pain, suffering and callousness in this world, I hope that I can still maintain that sense of wonder and that fearlessness from my youth. I leave in exactly eight weeks. I cannot wait. I feel humbled, blessed, anxious and ready, all at the same time. Ethiopia, here I come. I hope my next steps are firm.

Leave a Reply

