Be a Guru. Or Not.

Have you ever had one of those days when you think, ‘hey…I should do that!’ when you spy something interesting online. Today was one of those days for me. I was reading up on how Youtube is making some people a pile of money – you know them, the Youtube gurus who have channels to which we all subscribe faithfully. I have a few faves and I noticed that they have started doing ‘Meet the Fans’ and national tours, basically raking in the money. So I thought, ‘Hey, I should do that!’…then I realized that I may not have the time or energy it would take to surely manage a channel. I mean, I barely uphold my end of the ‘blog everyday’ bargain here!

However, it got me thinking. Perhaps the reason those gurus are successful is because they are really doing something they really love and something they are very passionate about. So, what am I passionate about? I love fashion but I don’t adore it enough to discuss it daily. That, plus my work in public health makes me so super-aware of what can matter more in the long run: getting plumpynut to a malnourished kid or waxing poetic about dresses that I could NEVER afford.  

I love photography but I am not an expert so I would feel quite silly simply posting pictures and hoping that I could pull some regular subscribers who would then enable me in a few years to retire and only come out for national tours!

It really makes you wonder, really. If you could have your own Youtube channel, what would you have as your topics?

 

 

Leave a Reply

