You.

You calmed me.

Your voice, over the phone,

calmed me.

I could hear your fear for me

in your tone,

but I could also feel the love,

as you told me everything was

and will be okay.

I believed you, and

together, we breathed

in

out

sighing in relief

and that weight?

It fell off these shoulders,

misting into nothingness,

scattered and blown into the wind

by the timbre of your voice over that line,

pulling the laughter and smile that had hidden

inside me for the last few hours,

pasting them right on the edge of my heart,

and silently daring me to not laugh and smile as before,

when the weight had started to settle…

You. I just needed to hear your voice.

Leave a Reply

