Imani

I knew you hadn’t.

Forgotten me, that is.

 

 

I feel I am always in

and within your sights.

Your grace waiting close by

to catch me when I stumble.

I knew you hadn’t.

Because you never have.

Your hand wraps around my heart,

injecting me with warmth

amidst a cold pushed in by life

and those jokes it likes to play.

But I knew you hadn’t.

Safety nets seem invisible from

way up here where you have me

but I know you are there,

you never forget me.

A simple thanks could

never

suffice.

For all you do, how you hold me,

the way you hold us up…

I know you are there.

Watching over me, over us,

keeping it together for us,

without asking for something from us.

Your light shines in our darkness,

leading us on, forward.

I knew you hadn’t.

Forgotten us, that is.

Because, Lord, you have been our strength.

Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

